An Old Post from an Older Blog…

I wrote this back in 2006 when my Ministry Journey was just beginning. It was one of the first true revelations I ever had on my own not told to me.

I Have been trying to find an appropriate way to start this blog for quite a while now, but every time I do, I find that I need to delete and start over. But the idea of this blog is to share with you about what I am begining to see as the divine romance. A sacrifice unlike any other.

To fully explain where this form of sacrifice has come from, we need to dig out our swords. I use the NKJV, so all my scripture refereces will be as such.

Lets read Genesis Chapter 22. If you do not remember it, this is the chapter in which God tells Abraham that he needs to take his son up onto the mountain and sacrifice him before God. For me, the first key to this whole passage is found in verses 6 & 7

6 So Abraham took the wood of the burnt offering and laid it on Isaac his son; and he took the fire in his hand, and a knife, and the two of them went together. 7 But Isaac spoke to Abraham his father and said, “My father!” And Abraham said, “Here I am, my son.” Then he (isaac) said, “Look, the fire and the wood, but where is the lamb for a burnt offering?”

In this scripture, Isaac has no idea that he is the one who is intended to be sacrificed. All he knows is that they are going to make a sacrifice and he is unsure what is up. It would be soon that he learned the truth of what was to happen to him on that mountain.

Scholars have determined that at this point in time, Isaac would have been about 15 years old. This would make Abraham well over 100. Now a man of over 100 is not going to be able to bind a 15 year old boy and force him onto the altar.

However, if we look to verse 10, Abraham binds his son and puts him up onto the altar. what I am begining to realize is that Isaac had to make a consious decision to go up onto the altar. We often talk about the faith of Abraham, but this passage is as much about the faith of Isaac as it is the faith of his father.

Isaac chose to go onto the altar even though he knew that it would mean that he was going die. He allowed himself to be entirely sacrificed.

Now as I was studying this, God asked me a question. He asked me,

“Would you die for me?”

Naturally I answered yes, If you would have me to be a martyr for your kingdom I will do it. But then he asked again.

“Would you die for me, not because of martyrdom, but because you love me?”

So I stopped and thought for a moment, and was unsure what he was asking of me. So I asked him to explain it to me. (sometimes I am dense)

He responded by saying this, “My son died for you because he loves you. He choose to put himself up on the altar for no other reason than love. Isaac did the same. He loved me so much that he was willing to die for me. Would you put yourself on the altar and be willing to die for me?”

This hit me like a sack of bricks. I realized that every other time I had sacrificed it had been because of a requirement. God had said give tithes and offerings. God has said donate time to helping others. God had said… But this was different. God hadn’t told me I need to, but asked me if I wanted to. God asked me if I loved him enough to do this for him.

This is the divine romance, To love God so much that you are willing to die for him. To hand him your life upon the altar and allow him to do whatever he wants with it.

When Isaac laid himself on the altar he didn’t know that God was going to spare him. In that same vein, we need to be willing to throw ourselves upon the altar and not expect God to spare us. If you go on the altar with the assumption that God is going to save you at the last minute then you may find yourself sorely mistaken.

When you love God it doesn’t matter. You would throw yourself on the altar no matter what happens, simply because you love him. Remember that Christ has called you his bride. There needs to be a deeper love. There must be a deeper love if you are to be the bride…

pray on it and see what God reveals to you. you may just find that God shows you something you didn’t expect.

About matreames

I am a Man on a Mission, A Missionary. I worship, I Love the Word, and I love the Glorious Gospel. How can I help you pursue Christ more?

Posted on July 1, 2010, in Religion, Spirituality. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

