A Chink In the Armor, more like a Gaping hole.

I have been thinking about the protection that is afforded us by the power of Jesus redemptive work on the cross lately. I keep coming back to this question, “If God already unraveled the schemes and dismantled the work of the enemy, why is it still such a struggle?”

God then highlighted to me a verse in Job. Job was an awesome Godly man who served his Lord honorably, yet God allowed him to be tested, and I always wondered where the broken link that allowed Job to succumb to the attack was. God highlighted this verse to me.

Job 3:25 “For what I fear comes upon me, And what I dread befalls me.” NASB

My fears come upon me and my dread befalls me. This verse though I had read it dozens of times, suddenly it has begun to haunt me (fitting since we just passed Halloween I guess)

Job had fear in him that one day he would lose everything. The fact that he feared it makes me note that he did not fully trust God. Because if you are fully trusting in Him, you are not concerned with what happens, because you know its in Gods hands.

At this juncture I would like to note that as a single man, with no children, I cannot fully understand the fear of losing your children.

However, I do have things that I think are important to me (although seemingly less and less everyday).  I have begun to reexamine myself and am working to find what matters most. I want to purge myself of all fear, (save for the fear of the Lord of Course.) I want to be so fully immersed in the Love of God that trusting him is simply the natural recourse.

This is a short blog, but its something I am pondering and will probably continue to ponder for some time. Thoughts and comments are always requested and encouraged. Iron Sharpens Iron and I am always wanting to be sharper.

About matreames

I am a Man on a Mission, A Missionary. I worship, I Love the Word, and I love the Glorious Gospel. How can I help you pursue Christ more?

Posted on November 1, 2010, in Religion, Spirituality. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. That is something that we have discussed at length in our church here in Georgia. We have all learned in one way or another that the LORD is our provider and not our income, our houses, our stocks or anything. If we are not afraid to lose it — and most have lost it all already — then the enemy can not use that fear against us. I am blest in that while I do have a child (obviously) I have no fear of losing him since even if the worst happened and he/you died I know that he/you would be with the LORD immediately (not that I want or expect anything to happen!) Getting rid of the fears also makes entering the battle easier. So many people stay on the sidelines simply because of fear. It is a great relief when you can honestly hand everything over to the LORD and say, I do not really need these so you take care of them for me. Good post Mat!

Leave a Reply

