Where is The Sacrifice?

thesacrifice

I remember hearing a sermon when I was younger. It was about Isaac. Specifically, the story wherein Abraham took Isaac up to the mountain to sacrifice him. I remember something in specific touching me, and its been hitting me even more now then it did when I first heard it. Lets read from Genesis Chapter 22 together.

Gen 22:6-9 NASB: “Abraham took the wood of the burnt offering and laid it on Isaac his son, and he took in his hand the fire and the knife. So the two of them walked on together. Isaac spoke to Abraham his father and said, “My father!” And he said, “Here I am, my son.” And he said, “Behold, the fire and the wood, but where is the lamb for the burnt offering?” Abraham said, “God will provide for Himself the lamb for the burnt offering, my son.” So the two of them walked on together. Then they came to the place of which God had told him; and Abraham built the altar there and arranged the wood, and bound his son Isaac and laid him on the altar, on top of the wood.”

So Abraham was taking his son Isaac up to the mountain, they had the wood, the fire, and the knife. Everything that they needed, or was it.

Gen 22:7b NASB: “Behold, the fire and the wood, but where is the lamb for the burnt offering?”

Isaac noticed here that they had everything except the sacrifice itself. Fire and wood is nothing if you do not have the sacrifice to put on the altar. The thing about this verse is that Isaac was to be the sacrifice. When we discuss this passage of scripture we focus so much on Abraham, but what about Isaac?

Isaac was a young man at this point. Not a child. Josephus even wrote that Isaac was 25 years old. As a man in his early twenties, I want you to know, you cannot force me to kill myself. Abraham was around 100 years when his son was born, so by this time he would have been in his 120’s. A good son will follow his father up the hill and partake in the religious works, but when Abraham finally let Isaac know that he was the sacrifice, It would not be overly tough for Isaac to decide not to go. But instead, he allowed himself to be bound. He allowed his father to sacrifice him.

This speaks volumes. In Romans, Paul urges us to “Present ourselves as living Sacrifices.” This is exactly what Isaac did. He loved the Lord and was willing to die to please his God. Revelation say that they overcame the dragon by; The Blood Of The Lamb, The Word of Their Testimony, and They did not love their lives even unto death. Isaac was the prime example. He chose to die to make himself pleasing to God. It would have been easy to chose not to, and you know there were voices in his head telling him that his father was insane, and that he should run, but instead he stayed.

We often put things on the altar to be sacrificed. We give up coffee, meat, facebook, or other things as a sign of our love to God. But God is looking for more than things, he wants you. God wants to burn us with his Holy Fire and take all our iniquities and impurities. He wants your heart.

Hannah Sheets, the daughter of Dutch Sheets shared a vision she had of what she called “The Uglies”. She saw people who were burned so badly that all their flesh was stripped from them, they were bone, and muscle and tendon, and they were exposed. She saw the angel stripping the flesh from these people and she knew this was a hard thing to be willing to submit to… She shared more, but this is the portion I want to highlight.

God is raising up a group of people who are Isaacs. People who are willing to put themselves on the altar and give themselves over to him completely. Its not a pretty thing, its not an easy thing, but it is a powerful thing. A Dead man has nothing to lose. A dead man cannot be hurt. God is yearning for laid down lovers who are so seeking him that they climb onto the wood, and ask God to light the fire. We all spend time in the fire,  but most of us jump out as it starts to get hot.

WHERE IS THE SACRIFICE?

Are you willing to go there? Are you willing to do what it takes to move into this new calling God has for you? A.W. Tozer once said, “As I draw closer to God my sins become even more intolerable to me.” Lying down on the altar is not an easy thing, its a humbling thing. God is giving us the opportunity to humble ourselves and choose his fire. That burning flesh is a mark that signifies a depth of commitment to him that surpasses simply being a “Christian”

I started to write this blog about a sermon I heard a while ago, but as I progressed in writing, it became much more. I believe this is a now word for you if you are reading it. I believe God is calling you to greater depths of surrender and holiness and I pray that You respond with your whole heart as he tugs you.

[P.S. I want to publicly Thank Pastor David Killingsworth from Forerunner House of Prayer in Green Forrest, AR. He was the preacher that put this thought in my head.

About matreames

I am a Man on a Mission, A Missionary. I worship, I Love the Word, and I love the Glorious Gospel. How can I help you pursue Christ more?

Posted on January 31, 2011, in Religion, Spirituality. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

