Thinking about Grace

grace

I am reading the book, “Awakening” by Pastor Stovall Weems. When I began reading this, I felt the Holy Spirit whisper to me, “This book is going to require some carpet time.” The fourth chapter of the book is called “Rediscovering Grace.” A basic summary would say that We need to understand the doctrine of grace if we are going to live in spiritual awakening.

The More I think about grace the less I know.  I have many friends who have many different views on grace. Some are very traditional Holiness types who think grace is the forgiveness of the sin to get you saved, but once your saved you  better live holy. Some think that Once you are saved you are free to do anything because of Grace. Other don’t believe you need to be saved, but that the work of the cross was for everyone regardless of your choice to follow Christ. Others have different views of course, but I don’t really feel like listing all the views of Grace.

Stovall  does a wonderful job of explaining his view of Grace in this book. He defines grace this way, “Grace is the practical working of the Goodness of God in the life of the Believer.” He then goes deeper into the purposes of Grace. The primary of which is an invitation to Love God more. Grace sets us free from our sins, and gives us the opportunity to Live better.

Some people would argue that living in the depths of the doctrine of Grace would cause you to live recklessly, but Stovall contends that when you have been forgiven, you have more inclination to Love. Then when you love more, you live better.  He reminds us of the word of the Lord written in the Book of Hebrews Chapter 8: 10-12

“10 For this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel after those days, says the LORD: I will put My laws in their mind and write them on their hearts; and I will be their God, and they shall be My people. 11 None of them shall teach his neighbor, and none his brother, saying, ‘Know the LORD,’ for all shall know Me, from the least of them to the greatest of them. 12 For I will be merciful to their unrighteousness, and their sins and their lawless deeds I will remember no more.”

Notice here that Jesus writes the law of the covenant upon our heart, and puts it in our minds. This is The Lord empowering us by his grace to live the Right way. I love this, because I know that I am not capable of living right on my own. The more I fall in love with him the more I want to please him. The problem is my flesh seems to get in the way.

It thank God for his grace, he is working in my Heart and renewing my mind to live a new way. He continually pulls away the veils over my eyes and shows me who I am compared to who he is. Do I like this, not at all, but it is the way he helps me to change myself, and I always like the improved me better than the old me.

I am looking forward to the journey through this book. I am looking forward to the spiritual awakening that is coming to me. I am looking forward to more of His presence living and active in my life. But most of all I am excited to be living in the Love and Grace of God.

As always, comments and thoughts are appreciated.

About matreames

I am a Man on a Mission, A Missionary. I worship, I Love the Word, and I love the Glorious Gospel. How can I help you pursue Christ more?

Posted on March 13, 2011, in Blogging For Books, Religion, Spirituality. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Nice explanation of “grace” here and I presume in Weems’ book, AWAKENING. God bless.

  2. Thanks for the love. Yeah this is a lot of Stovall and a little of Me. I recommend the book so far.

  3. I’m teaching TrueFaced at my church and it is also a great book about how God’s amazing grace works in and through us for His glory and our abundant life here on earth.

  4. I have never heard of trueFaced. I will have to look it up. so how did you find my little piece of cyber space.

Leave a Reply

