Desiring God Revised Edition [Review]

Thanks as always to the kind folks over at Waterbrook Multnomah for providing me with a free copy of John Piper’s Book “Desiring God: Meditations of a Christian Hedonist [Revised Edition]” With that said, here are my thoughts on this excellent book

John Piper presents a simple thesis, “God is most glorified in us when we are most satisfied in him.”

In other words, The more we desire, enjoy, and Love God, the more he is exalted in our lives, and by extension the lives of those around us.

Desiring God: Meditations of A Christian Hedonist was written 25 years ago, a whole year before I was born. Yet in that time, I never have gotten around to reading it.

I can honestly say I am glad that I did. In reading this book, nothing was radically changed in my theology. This book did not give me an epiphany or turn my world upside down. Instead it gave me language to better express the Life I already live.

Chapter One really helps define Piper’s term “Christian Hedonist” which is what he calls those who live out the thesis of this book. Then as the book progresses, he gives you insight as to how you can live this out in 9 key areas of your life; Conversion, Worship, Love, Scripture, Prayer, Money, Marriage, Missions, and Suffering.

This practical guide gives you theology and simple thinking that shows you how to most Glorify god in these areas. To really make him to focus, and the be able to look at these area with happiness and joy. These are areas that would otherwise be points of contention in our lives, especially money, and suffering.

I so throughly enjoyed this book, that I am intending on reading through it a second time. I would highly recommend it. If you can adopt this lifestyle, you will tap into untold joy and strength, and peace in your life by the simple act of enjoying Jesus Christ.

About matreames

I am a Man on a Mission, A Missionary. I worship, I Love the Word, and I love the Glorious Gospel. How can I help you pursue Christ more?

Posted on July 13, 2011, in Blogging For Books, Identity, Religion, Spirituality and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

