Whole New Hymnal – “Gonna Marry Him”

This is a Post from my music blog. I am consolidating everything to one site. So I moved the post here. I wrote this song as my submission for http://thesongwriterscafe.com as a part of The Songwriter’s Challenge 2011. This is January’s submission I play it Capo 3 and All chords are relative to the Capo.

Gonna Marry Him © 2011

Mat Reames (The Songwriters Café Jan 201)

Verse 1

C

There’s Gonna be a wedding

Am

United up in heaven

F G

With my love

C

We’ll drink in joy together

Am

Because your love is better

F G

I want more…

Chorus

C

I’m in love with a man

Am

His hair is white; his eyes are like a fire

F G

And I am gonna marry him

C

I’m in love with a man

Am

His hair is white; his eyes are like a fire

F G

And He, captivates my heart

Bridge

F

And his Glory

G

Fills this temple

F

And his Glory

G

Fills my heart

I have included a Youtube video of the song. Please leave comments, thoughts, advice. Anything to help me in my songwriting.

– Mathew Garrett

About matreames

I am a Man on a Mission, A Missionary. I worship, I Love the Word, and I love the Glorious Gospel. How can I help you pursue Christ more?

Posted on July 16, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Hey bro – thanks for sharing your song! I’m a worship leader in CO Springs and recently started my own blog. I was looking through some keywords and just found you through wordpress.

    Anyway, I saw that you had recorded this song and wanted to comment. First off, hats off to you for sharing in this way. A lot of people would be nervous about putting themselves out there like that.

    As for the song, I’m wondering who your audience is going to be? If it for performance, then I can see it potentially working. If for congregational worship, I think there are some problems. For one, it’s always difficult for a man to talk about being the bride of Christ. I’m not saying we shouldn’t sing about that, but I think we have to be careful in how we do it. Tact is hugely important on this topic.

    For instance, the main line, “I’m in love with a man” would be very hard for a heterosexual man in my congregation to sing. The fact that the name of Jesus is not mentioned in your chorus makes him uncomfortable, too. Perhaps starting with the verse instead of the chorus would help.

    Remember, our goal as congregational worship leaders is to create an atmosphere conducive to coming before the King. In this case, I would have to argue that singing about loving a man causes my mind to drift far too much instead of focusing on Jesus.

    Again, I applaud you for being willing to put this out there and even ask for constructive criticism.

    Travis Ross
    rossomethoughts.wordpress.com

    PS. On the bridge, might I suggest adding a bass note to 2 of the chords? So the progression would be F, G, F/A, G/B – I think that will give more movement and build to the bridge. Try it out and see if you like it. Blessings, bro!

  2. Hey man thanks for the advise. I do not really intend this for a corporate worship setting. It was something I wrote during one of my devotional times. I agree that it wouldn’t work for a lot of men to sing it in church.

    I will give the extra chords on the bridge a try soon. Thats a pretty good Idea. I will definitely be checking out your blog

  3. Hey thanks for putting your music out there for feedback!

    I’d echo the advice given by the above commenter…but that being said, I LOVE the melody lines dude! If it’s not intended for congregational settings, then I wouldn’t change a thing! Great tune, bro!

    P.S. My last name is pronounced with a short U sound. like “hut-toe” hehe!

Leave a Reply

