The Honeycomb [Part 2]

honeycomb

This is Part 2. To read Part 1 [Click Here]

I have been continuing this line of study since hearing the message and was reminded of God’s words to Ezekiel.

Ezekiel 2:8-3:3 NASB: “Now you, son of man, listen to what I am speaking to you; do not be rebellious like that rebellious house. Open your mouth and eat what I am giving you.” Then I looked, and behold, a hand was extended to me; and lo, a scroll was in it. When He spread it out before me, it was written on the front and back, and written on it were lamentations, mourning and woe. Then He said to me, “Son of man, eat what you find; eat this scroll, and go, speak to the house ofIsrael.” So I opened my mouth, and He fed me this scroll. He said to me, “Son of man, feed your stomach and fill your body with this scroll which I am giving you.” Then I ate it, and it was sweet as honey in my mouth.”

God gave his word directly to Ezekiel, he fed his word to the Prophet and it was sweet like honey. If you read the surrounding verses, God warned Ezekiel that he should not be afraid of the people and the words of his critics, but he should be strong and trust in the word the Lord had given to him.

God desires us to eat the honey, to dwell on the richness of his sweet words. In proverbs, Solomon is once again writing on the honey and he writes;

Proverbs 24:13 NASB “My son, eat honey, for it is good, Yes, the honey from the comb is sweet to your taste;”

There is value in The Words of The Lord beyond just being a nice story, or good morals. There is strength, Life, Power, encouragement, and more all hidden in the depths of The Word.

Just as the Lord made Ezekiel to eat the scroll, he also made John in His famous Revelation. Let’s look at Chapter 10.

Rev 10:9-10 NASB “So I went to the angel, telling him to give me the little book. And he *said to me, “Take it and eat it; it will make your stomach bitter, but in your mouth it will be sweet as honey.” I took the little book out of the angel’s hand and ate it, and in my mouth it was sweet as honey; and when I had eaten it, my stomach was made bitter.”

God knew that the word he was giving to John was not going to be a happy one, but even still, The Word of God tasted of sweet honey. If we take the word in, sometimes its going to challenge us, push us out of our comfort zones, and cause us to change, but the Sweetness of God will overflow and you will be made better for it.

About matreames

I am a Man on a Mission, A Missionary. I worship, I Love the Word, and I love the Glorious Gospel. How can I help you pursue Christ more?

Posted on July 20, 2011, in Religion, Spirituality and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

