My life in 140 characters or less…

I have many friends, many followers, and a few people I actually know. Welcome to the world of Social Media. On facebook I have about 608 “Friends” and on Twitter I have about 1000 followers. However, how many of these are people I contact regularly? How often do we get together? How often do we share life together?

This is the question I have been contemplating. Last Sunday I met @russhutto in person for the first time. Russ and I have ‘known’ each other for a few years thanks to a website for worship leaders called, The Worship Community. However this was just an online knowledge and really didn’t have much basis in fact. We followed one another on twitter and had the facebook friendship, but this was still a man I had never met. I never actually spoke to him orally.

As we sat and ate chicken, we regaled each other with stories of what God has been doing in our lives and saying to us.  But there was one thing Russ said to me that really hit a chord with me. He said, “Mat, I love reading this things God is doing through you, on twitter.” In other words, he actually read my tweets and followed my story.

but what was that story. If you only read my twitter, or saw my facebook, what kind of tale would you be reading? This is a chilling thought to me. Because if you see me at church, you might view me one way, because you always see me in a spiritual environment. However my tweets come at all different times, for different reasons.

If you  followed me on twitter would you see the same person you see on a Friday night or a Sunday morning? I think my twitter may be a more accurate assessment of who I am than many other windows into my life. It has caused me to really evaluate who I am and how I live.

What about you, if people judged your life solely on your social media, who would you be? Would you be the kind of person you would want to follow? Are you someone who is actually worth following?

 

P.S. Having met Russ in person, I can say he is a great guy, and in real life he is the same person he appears to be on line. I hope the same could be said of me.

About matreames

I am a Man on a Mission, A Missionary. I worship, I Love the Word, and I love the Glorious Gospel. How can I help you pursue Christ more?

Posted on July 29, 2011, in Identity, Religion, Spirituality and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Great thoughts, Mat. In this day and age I think we all are constantly challenged to not live our life differently in all the spheres we have influence in. It’s difficult because we all learned to do it in school and it continues into our adult lives. The social media just amplifies it.

    For me, it helps to have so many close friends that really know me follow m FB and Twitter. I couldn’t be fake if I wanted to! They would call me out on it. In fact, I’ve often thought how thankful I am to God that He’s kept me in ministry all these years. I know its not the healthiest reason, but if I’m honest, I think the “pressure” of having my family and the congregation at church look to me for guidance has kept me in line during some very dark times. God uses all kinds of different things in our lives to keep us close to Him.

    The danger is to walk away from being who we are in Him. Very easy to do since there are so many avenues to “express ourselves” these days.

  1. Pingback: Another 140 Characters: | Mathew Garrett Reames

Leave a Reply

