Understanding Antichrists [2]

antichrists

Yesterday I posted part one of my article on the spirit of Antichrist. Today we will be looking at the word ‘Antichrist’ itself and seeing what we can learn from this. I pray as you read these articles you are enlightened to the nature of Antichrist and his working in the church. I pray that these practical things will help you discern the spirit of Antichrist at work in your church and your life. with that said, I do not want to draw this out…

Read Part 1.
—-

Now, let me give you a brief Biblical explanation of each of these points. The first point deals with the etymology of the word Antichrist itself.

“Antichrist” is the English translation of the original Koine Greek ἀντίχριστος, pronounced än-tē’-khrē-stos. It is made up of two root words, αντί + Χριστός (anti + Christos). “Αντί” can mean not only “against” and “opposite of”, but also “in place of”, “Χριστός“, translated “Christ”, is Greek for the Hebrew “Messiah” meaning “anointed,” and refers to Jesus of Nazareth within Christian theology.

Putting these words together gives us an interesting perspective. One who stands in place of and is in opposition to the Anointed, the Messiah, and the Christ. If we separate those three words; anointed, Messiah, and Christ, it will give us understanding of the targets of the antichrist spirit. Because we know that the word messiah means ‘deliverer’ we know; Antichrist targets the anointing, the deliverers and the Christ.

This is what I call “The Pledge” Antichrist wants to blend in with the crowd. It doesn’t begin by telling you the truth, that it is actually planted in your Church, Your family, or yourself with the purpose of deceiving you and drawing you away from the Truth of the Word of God.

[P.S. I am aware that Ozzy is not The Antichrist, but it has been a longstanding urban legend, and I thought this picture fit well, so I went with it. Do not be offended, thank you.]

About matreames

I am a Man on a Mission, A Missionary. I worship, I Love the Word, and I love the Glorious Gospel. How can I help you pursue Christ more?

Posted on August 3, 2011, in antichrist, Religion, Spirituality and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

