Identity Fraud…

People take titles, and definitions far too seriously. What are you? Punk? Hipster? Prep? Old? Young? Pastor? Doctor? Leader? We have worked ourself into a corner culturally. In the early 1990’s, Michael W. Smith had huge success with a song called “Place in this world” It was a song about people trying to find out who they were. This is the culture we have developed in the last 30 years. We are so concerned with Identity. WHO AM I?

This is seen everywhere, but especially in our churches. We are so concerned with being somebody, and finding an Identity. We all want to be someone important in the Body of Christ. We want to be the “Pastor” or the “Worship Leader” or the “Elder” but these aren’t forms of Identity, they are titles. We have gotten so caught up in a case of mistaken identity that we have confused our Job description with our identity.

People have called me many different things throughout the years. I have been labeled a Hippie, a Jerk, a Recluse, Wild-Man, Worship Leader, Prophet, Monk, Punk, and many more. However, none of these define who I am. I am sure each of these has been an accurate description of the way I live at one point or another, but these aren’t who I am.

Child of God…

Chief among the things I describe myself as. “Child of God” John 1:12 and Ephesians 1:5 tells me that . Here they are in the NASB.

John 1:12 “But as many as received Him, to them He gave the right to become children of God, even to those who believe in His name”

Ephesians 1:5 “He predestined us to adoption as sons through Jesus Christ to Himself, according to the kind intention of His will”

If you know nothing else about me beyond this. I would say its good. I have been made a child of God. All of my identity is wrapped up in this single fact. God loves me enough that he planned out a way to bring me into his family. He sent his son Yeshua to redeem me back into the family. This is true of you as well. If you have been bought with the Blood of the Lamb, you have been redeemed to God.

But aside from this, who am I?

Worshiper…

The next thing you need to know about me is worshiper. Notice I did not say worship leader, because my identity as a worshiper is not dependent on others. If no one else would worship with me, I would still worship. I was actually created for the purpose of worshiping God. You can find a scriptural basis for this in Revelation 4:11

Revelation 4:11 “Worthy are You, our Lord and our God, to receive glory and honor and power; for You created all things, and because of Your will they existed, and were created.”

God is worthy. Plain ans simple. He is worthy. In fact Revelation tells us that Jesus was the only one who was found worthy. No one else is worthy of worship. In fact, Jesus is the king of Heaven. In a kingdom, if you take from the King, you are guilty of treason. So, if we are worshiping anything other than God, we are not only breaking the First 2 commandments, but you are robbing from King Jesus.

I am a son of God, and a worshiper of the Lord. Everything that I do, is a subsidiary of these things. My current position at my church is “Worship Leader” this is a title that describes my Job. In fact, given the choice, I would actually call myself a worship architect. I am building the platform for worship. I am creating a culture that is centered on worship.

What about you?

Are  you struggling to find your place in this world? Are you looking for an identity? Find your identity in Christ. Do not look for it in titles, or positions, or labels. These things fade and pass away. In fact, I would suggest that if your identity is tied up in your job, your position, or your label, you are committing Identity Fraud. The worst kind of identity fraud, because you are not only are you defrauding those around you, but you are defrauding yourself.

Who are you? Do you struggle with this question?  Perhaps you need a list of scriptures that will reassure you of who you are? Click Here This is a list of scriptures taken from Neil T. Anderson’s “Victory over the Darkness” Dr. Anderson gives us. He breaks down Identity into three primary Areas, “Accepted, Secure, and Significant” but the first of these is “I am a Child of God”

Do yourself a great service and learn who you are. If you are more concerned with what you are doing than who you are, you will lose yourself. Every great minister needs to be secure in his personal identity. He needs to be satisfied in Christ. He needs to be devoted to Christ. If you are secure in him, you are able to go deeper in relationship with him.

If you are too busy trying to find out who you are, you take your eyes off of him, and put them on you. This is pride, pure and simple. Matthew 6:33 tells us to keep our eyes on Christ.

Matthew 6:33 “But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.”

Seek the Lord. Run after Him, pursue Him, lose yourself in Him. When you are chasing after him, everything else comes easy. Don’t be lost trying to be the Good leader, because if your eyes leave Christ, even for a second, you will sink just like Peter did when was walking on the water. When you are secure in your identity in Christ, or more directly, secure in Christ, you aren’t looking to the left and the right. You are focused on him and only him, because he is everything.

Acts 17:28 “for in Him we live and move and exist, as even some of your own poets have said, For we also are His children.”

Let Christ become everything. Don’t let your title, or your label be everything. I assure you when you find yourself in him, the rest will not matter.

About matreames

I am a Man on a Mission, A Missionary. I worship, I Love the Word, and I love the Glorious Gospel. How can I help you pursue Christ more?

Posted on September 9, 2011, in Identity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

