Homeless in America or Starting the Year off Right.

Welcome to 2012. It is supposed to be the year of blessing, or at least that is what I have heard from a bunch of people. Its the year of the Government of God… the list continues. But let me tell you how 2012 is for me.

To do this I need to take you back into the end of the previous year. 2011. All throughout December I was studying Daniel 3, Faith, The Fire, and the Presence of God. God was warning me that I am sending my fire to purge things and realign so that My Presence can manifest. So I guess that counts as a blessing, even if it hurts and buns to get you there.

Now we come to 2012. I begin this year homeless. Yes you heard me right. Homeless. For a few days now I am riding the couches of some friends while I am searching to find the new home the Lord has for me. You might wonder how this is possible?

Well as many of you know I am living a hidden and simple life. I rented a room in an older lady’s basement. I gave my life to studying the Word  and ministering at the church and in world missions. It was a brilliant 2011 even if it was a difficult year. But the home I rented sold recently and I had to move. I was invited to continue to live with the same lady, but she was leaving town and thus I wouldn’t be able to continue in the ministry God has placed me. Yet God continues to say, “Don’t Quit The Ministry” I hear the word and I will obey. But this means that right now I do not have a room of my own. Luckily people from the Church have allowed me to stay with them and given me a warm place to sleep.

You might think I am stressed because I do not have a home, but I have such peace its hard to describe. This recent ‘move’ which is still in process has forced me to cut my possessions once again. Its a wild thing because I am learning how materialistic I really am. It was ok to have stuff as long as I had less stuff than others. The problem with this is that its comparison. I am comparing myself with others and not asking God how should I live.

Now I  own very little. A bed, dresser, older television and DVD player. My Guitar, a few boxes with clothes, books, and some stuff for computer work which I do on the side to earn a little extra cash. and it is bringing me joy to have less. Who would have thought. I spent my life pursuing this idea that I need more stuff, the latest equipment, and the best electronics, but I don’t. I need a certain amount to do the work in the ministry, but its a lot less than others. I don’t have an iphone or ipad. I don’t have a fancy car (or any car for that matter) I don’t own couches and furniture that fills a house for four.

That being said, I really need all the prayers I can get. The life I am now leading is not the easiest, and to be honest its a bit strange. But in the midst of this I am doing more than I ever have before. I recently took up preaching as a regular thing. I am not fully ordained yet, but I have been asked to teach at my church and other churches, Most recently in Jesup, GA. Its exciting. Next month I am going into the recording studio to lay down some worship tracks I have written. A friend of mine is donating the time in his studio to bless me and help me get this project off the ground. I am planning on going to Mexico, Nepal, Israel, and possibly more this year. I am leading worship at my church. But all of this needs support. I need all the prayers I can get. I need some extra finances to help pay for the production of the physical CD and getting it distributed to stores and churches. I need the favor of God to continue to open doors for me. Please continue to pray for me as I progress down this journey. If you have any thoughts, comments, questions, or answers, feel free to email me matreames@gmail.com or just leave a comment here.

About matreames

I am a Man on a Mission, A Missionary. I worship, I Love the Word, and I love the Glorious Gospel. How can I help you pursue Christ more?

Posted on January 12, 2012, in Internship, Missions, music. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi Mat I’m encouraged by your faithfulness! Pamela and I see God’s hand in your life and we want to thank you for being our best student. Your heart is right and the Lord has you in His will. The door in Israel is open. We are lifting your name and your needs before His throne.

    Your brother and sister in Messiah Yehoshua
    Joel and Pamela Bell

    • Thanks for the encouragement, I wouldn’t go as far as to say I was your best student. But I appreciate the compliment. I hope to be able to come and see you again soon, but in the meantime I just keep praying that the Lord places his hand behind you to help accelerate you in the direction he has for you. I really love you guys and am excited to see all that is happening with you.

      Your brother in our Messiah and Great Abba
      – Mathew Garrett Reames

      P.S. I got a chance to share at a church in Georgia recently about all that is happening in Israel and it was a well received message. Most had not heard Israel portrayed in this light.

Leave a Reply

