Figuring out the Tabes…

tables

Let me begin by telling the testimony of a woman who became a Christian after being raised a Hindu.

She was raised a Hindu, and was a very devout one. One day she was diagnosed with Kidney disease and her prognosis was very bad. She didn’t have the money for good treatment, which is common in third world nations.
So she began to follow the Hindu tradition. She cooked rice and laid it on a table before an Idol. She was praying that Shiva (I believe she said shiva) would heal her if she made the offering. Every day she made fresh rice as a offering to her god as was the tradition and requirement, but showed no improvement.

after some time, she was nearing death. A neighbor invited her to a Christian church and said the church would pray for her healing. With desperation setting in she agreed. She went to the church and they prayed. The miracle of the story is that she was healed, and fully recovered within days.

After experiencing the Healing power of Jesus Christ she decided to become a Christian. After all she had been a devout Hindu her whole life, but no Hindu god helped her in her time of greatest need.

However after a few days, her family noticed the change and implored her to give up Christianity and go back to Hinduism. Since Hinduism allows for many gods she decided to follow the Hindu traditions and Christian ones.

So she set all her idols back up next to the picture of Jesus and put her dot back on her head. Shortly after, the kidney disease came back. In her heart she knew this was because she had been healed by Jesus, but then went back to her idols. So she made a final decision she was Christian and would not have any other gods besides Jesus.

Once again her sickness was healed and ever since she has been a strong Christian. Served God, Prayed for the Sick, and been a faithful witness of God’s power.

When she shared this testimony my heart was broken for the Hindu people. They are so devout, and do so much for their god’s but see no real blessing. Later I was teaching in a church in Dhulabari, Nepal and felt compelled to share on the difference between our God and the Hindu gods… Here are the two main points.

1. the Hindu gods require you to make a table for them. they require offerings and effort in hopes that you might be blessed. But instead our god says, “I make a table for You in the presence of your enemies” (Psalm 23) He also says, “I will bring You to my banqueting table, for my banner over you is Love” (Song of Solomon 2:4)

The Hindu gods require you to make their table, but our God makes the table for you. Instead of taking from you, He gives to you, becuase He loves you.

2. Hindus are marked physically with symbols, and the dot on their head, but our God says “I mark you with my presence so that the nations will know you are Mine, and have favour in my eyes.” Our God doesn’t want to mark us with cuts, tattoos, piercings, or any other symbol. He gives us his presence. In fact, when the Apostles worked, people recognized their power and remarked that they had been with Jesus (Acts 4:13)

When I finished preaching this message I saw several come to accept Jesus as their saviour. The key is that He doesn’t require anything of you.  He just wants you to come to Him. To call out His name. When you encounter His love, you begin to love him back (1st John 4:10) Then when you are experiencing the love God and loving him back, you experience His kindness. It is his kindness that brings us to repentance.  (Romans 2:4)

When we show people the Love of God, and how simple He has made it for them, they naturally want to come to the foot of the cross and give their hearts over to Jesus Christ. It was a beautiful time, and I am so grateful for each person who heard the word of God.

About matreames

I am a Man on a Mission, A Missionary. I worship, I Love the Word, and I love the Glorious Gospel. How can I help you pursue Christ more?

Posted on August 24, 2012, in Grace, Missions, Religion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. What an amazing testimony of the Glorious Gospel. I have been asked to go over to India and my heart burns for Andresh Pradesh. I hope GOd mirrors my experience once I get there.

    • Yeah, India is amamzing, but also very tough. I have a desire to go to Andhra Pardesh as well. We have a contact there who has been asking us to come. We have a contact in Chennai that we have worked with in the past and wants us to come back, so our next trip might be Chennai, then Andrhra Pardesh before going ack up to Kalimpong and then into Nepal. There are people all over the world begging for Honest Bible teaching. Putting aside the signs, wonder, miracles, and such (which all happen, often). People want to be taught the Bible, and I want to give it to them. Go into all the world and make disciples. Thats who I am.

Leave a Reply

