My God cannot do everything… (and I like it that way)

godcannot

We often as Christians touting a God who is all-powerful, and able to do anything. We love the fact that our God is able to do anything, because it reminds us How big he is. We quote scriptures discussing this very topic.

However, the truth is that there are things that my God cannot do. There are things that are just not possible for my God. This is a frightening thought to most, but for me, it is a source of hope. Now before you go ahead and call me a heretic, or search for the stones with which you plan on killing me, et me explain.

  • My God is holy, and therefore anything that would conflict with His holiness is impossible. For instance, God cannot lie, because If He were a liar, that would not demonstrate holiness. God commanded that His people should not lie and therefore He, Himself will never lie. Titus 1:2 tells us this is indeed fact.

“…in the hope of eternal life, which God, who cannot lie, promised long ages ago,..” (NASB)

My God cannot lie. I am ok with this, because the fact that He cannot lie means every word from His mouth is true, and I can trust the things that He says to me.

  • My God is unable to break His promise. When He gives His word, it is always true, because He cannot lie. Beacuse of this, if He makes a promise, He will always do what He said. Psalm 89:34 speaks to this.

“My covenant I will not violate, Nor will I alter the utterance of My lips.” (NASB)

So far we have seen two things that My God cannot do, and the fact that He can’t do them all makes Him even greater. If he could lie or break a promise, there would be no reason to trust Him. I do not want a God I cannot trust. Thank You Lord that You are alway true, and never break Your word.

  • My God cannot abandon me. He has given me His word that He will always be with me. Deuteronomy 31:6 tells us this.

“”Be strong and courageous, do not be afraid or tremble at them, for the LORD your God is the one who goes with you. He will not fail (leave)  you or forsake you.”  (NASB)

My God has given me His word that He will not leave, nor forsake me. He is always with me, and is always working for my good. Once again, there is something that God cannot do, and the fact that He cannot is a good thing. Who desires to have a God who is only there part time. You wouldn’t want a part time daddy, why a part time God?

  • God cannot be Racist, or Prejudiced. Acts 10:34-35 assures us of this.

“Opening his mouth, Peter said: “I most certainly understand now that God is not one to show partiality, but in every nation the man who fears Him and does what is right is welcome to Him.” (NASB)

God doesn’t judge us based on our color, or nationality, or sex. He loves us all, and simply wants us to Honor him and live right.

I could keep going, but surely you are beginning to understand. God is a good God and His character is Holy. Everything He does is a representation of His character. Therefore anything that violates His Holiness is something he cannot do.

This holiness helps us recognize His love. God’s faithfulness is something we desire out of all our relationships, but only God can live like this all the time. Man will fail. We lie to one another. We suffer from racism and prejudice. (Not all of us but quite a few) We abandon ourselves, and our families. We are human, and thus we fail, often. But God is Holy, and never fails in this.

I am thankful that my God cannot do everything, becuase the things he cannot do help me see His love and His character. How do you feel about this?

About matreames

I am a Man on a Mission, A Missionary. I worship, I Love the Word, and I love the Glorious Gospel. How can I help you pursue Christ more?

Posted on August 29, 2012, in Religion, Spirituality and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Still looking for the controversial part!

Leave a Reply

