Understanding Antichrists [Part 6]

antichrists

Read Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, & Part 5.

When I wrote Part 5 a whole year ago, I mentioned that it was the final portion of the essay, but that my study would be ongoing. Well after having put aside all of the research for a while, God brought me back to it and We have actually been studying it in our church as well. So not everything is completely my revelation. Some of the intermingled concepts are from Apostle Lisa McFarland of Warring Dove International Ministries.

-More on the Wardoves-

Now this is not a direct quote, but since we have been discussing it in our classes at the church, some of what I have been thinking is inspired by the series studying it in the church. Furthermore, she challenged us to read through the writings of John. [The Gospel of John, 1st, 2nd, & 3rd John, and The Revelation of Jesus Christ.

Through this reading I have had my eyes opened wide to the fullness of Who Christ is right now at this very moment, and what the spirit of antichrist is right now at this moment. With that said let’s dig in. I have been wrestling with the concept of the prefix ‘anti’ which is the prefix associated with ‘antichrist’ What does it mean in its fullness. If you have read through the first 5 parts of this series, you will know that in part two I gave the definition of ‘antichrist’. I am going to quote the first half of that here.

[  “Antichrist” is the English translation of the original Koine Greek ἀντίχριστος, pronounced än-tē’-khrē-stos. It is made up of two root words, αντί + Χριστός (anti + Christos). “Αντί” can mean not only “against” and “opposite of”, but also “in place of”  ]

In previous parts we really dove into the against portion of this meaning. However lately God has been speaking to me about the ‘opposite of’ portion of this definition. The antichrist spirit is the ‘opposite of’ Christ. Chances are that this is a ‘well duh’ moment for you and you think I am crazy for thinking that this is a deep revelation, but if you will continue reading, I will show you why this is so important.

The antichrist spirit is ANYTHING that is in opposition to what Christ Jesus is. I do not know how many posts it will take to unpack the full impact of this, but I will continue to search for wisdom and understanding. Lets begin by looking at a simple verse that you have probably heard a thousand times.

1st John 4:8 “The one who does not love does not know God, for God is love.”

In this verse, John explains one of the key aspects of the nature of God. GOD IS LOVE. In the verse previous to this John explains that Love is from God, and that anyone who loves is from God.  We as Christians are called to love, but if we do not love, John saws we do not know God.

Christ is love, and if we do not love like Christ we are antichirst in our core. We do not know God. This is a big hit to my heart, because the more I grow close the Christ, the more I realize how little I love. But, praise God, He is working in my life and causing me to grow to be more like Him everyday. I am learning to Love.

Bob Jones once described a dream or vision he had. I don’t remember it all, but I remember this. He was standing at the gates of heaven and the Lord asked him, “Did You Learn to Love.” When he was thinking about it, he felt conviction because he knew in that instant how important this was to God and how this single question felt in an instant as if it were the most important question he would ever hear.

Now I know some people do not put much stock in dreams and visions, but this one has stuck with me. Even as I heard him retell it, I felt the weight of conviction on me, and I have been seeking to grow in love everyday. God is Love and thus to Grow in love is to grow in Him.

Did you learn to Love?

I pray that this question would haunt us every day, and cause us to run hard after God and become more like Him. He is love, and we need to be more like He is. There is still a lot more coming as I continue to unpack the spirit of antichrist. But I do know that Love is going to burn in me. I will learn to Love.

[P.S. I am aware that Ozzy is not The Antichrist, but it has been a longstanding urban legend, and I thought this picture fit well, so I went with it. Do not be offended, thank you.]

About matreames

I am a Man on a Mission, A Missionary. I worship, I Love the Word, and I love the Glorious Gospel. How can I help you pursue Christ more?

Posted on September 27, 2012, in antichrist, Religion, Spirituality. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

