Live Worthy of the Grace….

liveworthy

“Now that you are free, live worthy of the grace God has given to you.”

I once said this to a man who was in some legal trouble. He was looking at jail time, and no one wanted that. We prayed together and had others who were praying. We asked God for mercy, and grace. That the judge would look favorably on him and let him off. Sure enough that is exactly what happened. This brother was set free. No fine, nothing, just freedom.

When we picked him up, he gave me a big hug and thanked me for standing with him and praying. I was glad he had gotten the miracle he need. However after all of that, I looked at him and simply said;

“Now that you are free, live worthy of the grace God has given to you.”

He knew instantly what I meant. It wasn’t an angry statement, or a judgmental statement. But he knew God had given him grace, and he knew he had to shift his mindsets, and actions so he wouldn’t make the same mistakes again. But this article is not about him, its about me.

I was born a sinner. I deserved Hell, but Messiah Yeshua intervened and gave me grace. I love the way Bono, the lead singer of the world famous U2 put it.

Bono: You see, at the center of all religions is the idea of Karma. You know, what you put out comes back to you: an eye for an eye, a tooth for a tooth, or in physics; in physical laws every action is met by an equal or an opposite one. It’s clear to me that Karma is at the very heart of the universe. I’m absolutely sure of it. And yet, along comes this idea called Grace to upend all that “as you reap, so you will sow” stuff. Grace defies reason and logic. Love interrupts, if you like, the consequences of your actions, which in my case is very good news indeed, because I’ve done a lot of stupid stuff.

Assayas: I’d be interested to hear that.

Bono: That’s between me and God. But I’d be in big trouble if Karma was going to finally be my judge. I’d be in deep s—. It doesn’t excuse my mistakes, but I’m holding out for Grace. I’m holding out that Jesus took my sins onto the Cross, because I know who I am, and I hope I don’t have to depend on my own religiosity.

source: http://bit.ly/bonograce

The power of the cross completely overwrote what I earned, it overcame my sin and shame. I am free. However, If I am honest, I still make mistakes. I still need grace.

There are hundreds if not thousands of messages on grace and they cover a wide spectrum of opinions. Some would tell you we have grace, and therefore we cannot sin, everything is cool. Some would tell you, you got grace, but if you sin again you are going to hell. Someone will tell you just about any wild thing you can imagine when it comes to grace.

But I think Paul can share some great insights with us. Remember that he was the man who hunted and killed people who followed Yeshua, and yet God extended grace, and transformed him into one of the greatest missionaries of all time. In Romans, he discusses Grace and Sin.

Now if we have died with Christ, we believe that we shall also live with Him, knowing that Christ, having been raised from the dead, is never to die again; death no longer is master over Him. For the death that He died, He died to sin once for all; but the life that He lives, He lives to God. Even so consider yourselves to be dead to sin, but alive to God in Christ Jesus. Therefore do not let sin reign in your mortal body so that you obey its lusts, and do not go on presenting the members of your body to sin as instruments of unrighteousness; but present yourselves to God as those alive from the dead, and your members as instruments of righteousness to God.
Romans 6:8-13

I would love to quote all of Romans 5-7, but its just to much. Read those passages and let grace wash over you through the word. This specific passage is great because it reminds us of several key facts;

  1. We died with Christ, and are no longer alive to Sin
  2. Sin does not reign in our lives.
  3. We are to be instruments of righteousness

So many people go around proclaiming themselves as sinners. Their mindset says they are still tied to sin. However this is just not the case. You were born a sinner because you had the DNA from Adam, but by virtue of being burried with Christ, you have been brought back into newness of life with Him. That Life, and that Blood is free from a sin nature. You can still choose to sin, but your IDENTITY is no longer a sinner.

The more you identify yourself as a sinner the more you will be likely to sin again. The more you identify with Christ the more you are likely to become like Him. You will probably sin again, but it is not your identity. Grace doesn’t prevent sin. Grace enables you to overcome sin by the Blood of Jesus and frees you from the consequence of that sin, which is Death.

Is grace a license to sin? NO! Grace will never encourage you to sin. Grace encourages you to stop looking at yourself as a sinner, and look at yourself as the Child of God, Washed and cleansed by His Blood. Now, because you have been given such grace, stop living like you used to. Look to Jesus and learn to live like Him.

But we all, with unveiled face, beholding as in a mirror the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from glory to glory, just as from the Lord, the Spirit.
2nd Corinthians 3:18

The Blood took the veils off our eyes to help us behold the Risen King. Grace helps us to keep our eyes on Him, so we become like Him. We are not sinners if we have been saved, and baptized. Instead we are the children of God by the spirit of Adoption and we are called to be the Bride of Christ. Stop Identifying with your sins. Stop letting them reign in you.

Sin does not have power over you. The blood of Jesus and the Spirit of the Living God has power over sin. Let that power guide you into righteousness and shape you into an instrument of His righteousness. Let me end with one final encouragement from Paul. The man was just like us, and overcame to become great in the kingdom. The one who Identified himself as the chief of sinners, was the instrument of righteousness that God used to bring the gentiles back into the family of God where they belong.

Therefore I urge you, brethren, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies a living and holy sacrifice, acceptable to God, which is your spiritual service of worship. And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may prove what the will of God is, that which is good and acceptable and perfect.
Romans 12:1-2

Father,

I pray that you would teach us to Live worthy of the Grace that You have given us. Teach us how not identify as a sinner, but rather as Your child. You have called us to be overcomers. You have not meant us to continue to undergo. Help us to live worthy of the Grace that You have given us.

Amen

About matreames

I am a Man on a Mission, A Missionary. I worship, I Love the Word, and I love the Glorious Gospel. How can I help you pursue Christ more?

Posted on October 5, 2012, in Grace, Identity, Religion, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

