Pray Like This…. [9]

“Pray, then, in this way: ‘Our Father who is in heaven, Hallowed be Your name. ‘Your kingdom come. Your will be done, On earth as it is in heaven. ‘Give us this day our daily bread. ‘And forgive us our debts, as we also have forgiven our debtors. ‘And do not lead us into temptation, but deliver us from evil. [For Yours is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever. Amen.]’ Matthew 6:9-13

This is possibly the most well known pray in the world. People have said this single prayer, possibly every day since Jesus instructed them in it 2000 years ago. But instead of simply memorizing and repeat it, what if we were to cut it apart into its simple statements and examine them?

There are 9 distinct thoughts expressed here:

1. Our Father in Heaven

2. Hallowed be Your Name

3. Your Kingdom Come

4. Your Will be Done

5. On Earth as it is in Heaven

6. Daily Bread

7. Forgiveness

8. Deliverance

9, Kingdom

Now obviously it would be a very long post if we looked at each one of these, so instead I want to divide it into sections. Last time we discussed, “Deliverance” Let’s continue on.

KINGDOM:

When we pray the Lord’s Prayer, we usually end it this way. “For Yours is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever. Amen.” However if you noticed at the top as you read the whole pray from the scripture, this section is bracketed. The reason for this is because scholars have found that in the earliest manuscripts, this section was not included.

While it is likely that this portion was not said by Jesus himself, I think it serves as a solid benediction to close out this prayer. I think it is solid, because after we have prayed out everything that we have to pray, this serves as a reminder to end our prayers with worship. Think about those words, “For Yours is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever.”

That is a worship phrase. It is honoring, extolling, and lifting the name of Jesus. When we have a time of Prayer, the focus should always be Jesus. That is why we began with worship and honor, and now we are ending on worship and honor. This should always be the way we think. St.Patrick of Ireland said it this way,

Christ be with me, Christ within me,
Christ behind me, Christ before me,
Christ beside me, Christ to win me,
Christ to comfort and restore me,
Christ beneath me, Christ above me,
Christ in quiet, Christ in danger,
Christ in hearts of all that love me,
Christ in mouth of friend and stranger.

I think this is a great philosophy.  When we think this way, we allow Christ to infuse every aspect of life and not just pick and choose places for him. So if Jesus didn’t say this portion of the prayer, that is fine, but it has become recognized worldwide as a portion of the prayer when recited. So I will allow it.

Remember Christ is the focus so let your prayer be a form of worship and honor to him. Now we have finally finished the 9 portions of this prayer. In a few days I will have one more post to cover some of the interesting themes and overarching portions of this prayer. to help show us how to apply these principles to our daily lives.

About matreames

I am a Man on a Mission, A Missionary. I worship, I Love the Word, and I love the Glorious Gospel. How can I help you pursue Christ more?

Posted on April 19, 2013, in Prayer, Religion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

