Things I say to my Self

I want to promise you I am not crazy. My mother had me tested… (Bazinga)  But sometimes I feel the need to have a sit down conversation with my self. You might be reading this and thinking Myself is one word and not two. But, when I have to talk to My Self, It is a very two sided conversation. Remember I told you I am not crazy. But its a real thing.

You see, I know who I am. i know my identity that is settled in Christ and Seated in heavenly places with Him. However I also know how easily I can get distracted. I know how quickly I can let the circumstances of life pull me away from that Identity. See, that Person, the one seated in Heavenly Places. He is awesome. He reflects Christ well, he never succumbs to fear or timidity, and He hopes infinitely.

That is Mathew Garrett Reames. However, that is not “Self” (Self is what I call my self) Self is quick to shy back, hates conflict and confrontation, and is prone to depression and fear. So, sometimes I have to talk to my Self. I remember Derek Prince who was an amazing Bible Teacher with a delightful accent. He used to say that every day he had to war with himself to get up and live because He suffered from depression.

I have to go to war with my self sometimes. I have to be like David who strengthened Himself in the Lord. So I talk to myself. Here is a common conversation.

“Why are you cast down, O my soul, and why are you in turmoil within me? Hope in God; for I shall again praise him, my salvation and my God.” Psalm 43:5 ESV and the NLT says it this way, “Why am I discouraged? Why is my heart so sad? I will put my hope in God! I will praise him again–my Savior and my God!”

I have to tell myself that I will praise in God, my savior. Se my self seems to forget who I really am. My self forgets the beauty of the Lord and the Joy of His presence. So I have to remind myself. I have to worship. I have to praise. I have to take myself back to that place where He is.

That place is perfect, and the more time I spend in that place, the more I become who I am. Sometimes we all need to be reminded to hope in God. So when you are struggling stop. Take a minute and talk to Your Self. I want to leave you with one final verse. It is one of my personal favourites.

“We have this as a sure and steadfast anchor of the soul, a hope that enters into the inner place behind the curtain,” Hebrews 6:19 ESV

About matreames

I am a Man on a Mission, A Missionary. I worship, I Love the Word, and I love the Glorious Gospel. How can I help you pursue Christ more?

Posted on October 31, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

