Christmas Was Always About Family

I Remember

This Thursday is Christmas it is the time of year where we remember that Christ came to earth. So For the next few days I want to share Christmas thoughts.

As a child, I don’t remember the presents I got. I can name a few, A Shaq Poster, A Welding Toy, A Power Rangers Zord set… but as a Child I got dozens of presents over the years. So remembering three is not a big feat.

However, what I do remember is Family. I remember going to Pennsylvania. I remember unfinished business in the basement with my cousins and the Benner boys. I remember Prime Rib and Turkey and all the trimmings. I remember lounging on the couch as the family shared the news of what has been happening. I remember trays of meats, cheeses, and crackers. I remember family.

The Family

Family has always been the cornerstone Christmas tradition for me. I remember the gospel of John and how he opened it. “And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we have seen his glory, glory as of the only Son from the Father, full of grace and truth…” John 1:14

This is an example of Family and Christmas. Christ became flesh and lived with us; with a family. Christ didn’t come as a conqueror. He didn’t come as a King. He didn’t come as some sort of super hero. He came as a baby boy. He wasn’t born into the royal family living in the palace (even though he was descended from the Kings) He was born to a poor carpenter and His wife who didn’t even have a place to stay when he was born and had to settle for a stable and a manger.

Christ experienced life in the context of a family. He joined our family so that He could adopt us into his family. His plan was always to bring restoration and reconciliation and bring us into His family and present us to His father.

Christmas was always about family. I encourage you today to think about your family. No, not only those who are your blood, but those who are His blood. Remember those who are our brothers and sisters around the world who feel cut off, who feel alone, who are being persecuted, and hated. Remember your family

 Christmas was always about family.

About matreames

I am a Man on a Mission, A Missionary. I worship, I Love the Word, and I love the Glorious Gospel. How can I help you pursue Christ more?

Posted on December 22, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

